Tuesday, April 14, 2009

48th dumaguete national writers workshop fellows

The 15th Iligan National Writers Workshop's one and only official "Lolo" of the batch has made it in this year's Silliman Workshop! Whoa, with your age Lolo Niño Saavedra Manaog, you got in! I am so happy for you. Seriously, the results make me smile; at least there's someone I know in this year's list of fellows and gives more weight in my decision to visit Dumaguete again. And I just realized I am officialy an alumnus now of this workshop. A year has passed and our batch is one year "wiser" and older. Oh well, here's the list of the lucky ones:

National Artist for Literature and National Writers Workshop Director Emeritus Edith Lopez Tiempo, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, and Silliman University are pleased to announce that the following young writers have been accepted as fellows for the 48th National Writers Workshop scheduled on 4-15 May 2009:

For Poetry
Mariane Amor Romina T. Abuan (University of Santo Tomas)
Jonathan S. Gonzales (Ateneo de Manila University)
Arkaye V. Keirulf (Ateneo de Manila University)
Patricia Angela F. Magno (Ateneo de Manila University)
Niño S. Manaog (Ateneo de Manila University)

For Fiction
Keith Bryan T. Cortez (University of Santo Tomas)
Ana Margarita Stuart del Rosario (De La Salle University)
Monique S. Francisco (University of the Philippines - Diliman)
Russell Stanley Geronimo (De La Salale University)
Aleck E. Maramag (De La Salle University)
Gabriel Millado (University of the Philippines – Mindanao)
Gabrielle L. Nakpil (Ateneo de Manila University)
Joy c. Rodriguez (University of the Philippines – Mindanao)

For Creative Nonfiction
Philip Y. Kimpo, Jr. (University of the Philippines - Diliman)
Marck Ronald Rimorin (University of the Philippines - Baguio)

This year’s panel of critics is composed of Dumaguete-based writers Ernesto Superal Yee, Myrna Peña Reyes, and Cesar Ruiz Aquino, as well as guest panelists Gemino Abad, Juaniyo Arcellana, J. Neil Garcia, Susan Lara, Rosario Lucero, DM Reyes, and Alfred Yuson.

The workshop, which is the longest running Writers Workshop in Asia, is coordinated by the Silliman University Department of English and Literature.

No comments: