Friday, May 06, 2011

18th iligan national writers workshop fellows

It is the season of writing workshops. Usually, after the ones in Bacolod and Dumaguete, the national workshop in Iligan follows. As a fellow for English Poetry back in 2008, I can attest that the learning I culled from it is relevant until now. After all, one of its panelists is the reason why I decided to take writing seriously when I was in high school.

By the way, congratulations to Anne, Glenn, and Vijae for making it this year.


Seventeen writing fellows out of 78 applicants from all over the country are attending the 18th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) on May 23-27, 2011 to be held at the MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT). They are…

Bonifacio Alfonso M. Javier III (Play, Filipino)
Vijae O. Alquisola (Poetry, Filipino)
Anne Carly S. Abad (Poetry, English)
Jacob Walse Dominguez (Poetry, English)
Michelle Abigail Tiu Tan (Fiction, English)

Mary Grace H. Abogado (Boy Abunda Writing Fellow - Poetry, Waray)
Gil Salanio Montinola (Poetry, Hiligaynon),
Glenn T. Munez (Poetry, Cebuano)
Erik E. Tuban (Poetry, Cebuano)
Denver Ejem Torres (Poetry, Cebuano)

Rogelio F. Garcia (Play, Filipino)
Allen Faw B. Samsuya (Poetry, English)
Maimona W. Magayoong (Poetry, English)
Mark Anthony L. Daposala (Manuel E. Buenafe Writing Fellow - Poetry, Cebuano)
Deo Charis I. Mostrales (Fiction, English)
Jonecito R. Saguban (Fiction, Cebuano)
Kei S. Valmoria-Bughaw (Ricardo Jorge S. Caluen Writing Fellow - Fiction, Cebuano)

The Integrated Performing Arts Guild (IPAG) performs during the opening program on May 23 at the MSU-IIT Mini-theatre, while the closing program and launching of the 17th INWW proceedings titled, The Poetry of Place, edited by Christine Godinez-Ortega, will be held on May 27.

Panelists this year are: Leoncio P. Deriada, Merlie M. Alunan, Erlinda Kintanar Alburo, Ralph Semino Galan, Steven Patrick C. Fernandez, German V. Gervacio, Godinez-Ortega and this year’s Keynote Speaker, Pearlsha B. Abubakar (INWW, 2002).

The 18th INWW is hosted by the Mindanao Creative Writers Group (MCWG) and the MSU-IIT Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research & Extension. The workshop is funded by the National Commission for Culture and Arts (NCCA) and the MSU-IIT.

(lifted from the official announcement)

No comments: