Wednesday, March 18, 2015

54th silliman university national writers workshop fellows

The family tree continues to grow. Congratulations and welcome to the literary brood!


The 54th edition of the Silliman University National Writers Workshop is slated to start on 11 May 2015 at the Rose Lamb Sobrepeña Writers Village in Camp Look-out, Valencia, Negros Oriental. The workshop closes on May 29.

Twelve writers from all over the Philippines have been accepted as regular workshop fellows.

Fellows for Poetry

Aimee Paulette O. Cando (University of Santo Tomas)
Angela Gabriele R. Fabunan (University of the Philippines-Diliman)
Darylle Luzarita Rubino (University of the Philippines-Mindanao)
Mohammad Nassefh R. Macla (University of the Philippines-Mindanao)

Fellows for Fiction

Luis Manuel Diores (University of San Carlos)
Patricia Corazon F. Lim (Ateneo de Manila University)
Kristine Abelink Patenio (University of St. La Salle-Bacolod)
Rodolfo Eduardo T. Santiago (Ateneo de Manila University)

Fellows for Creative Nonfiction

Jona Branzuela Bering (Cebu Normal University)
Rowena Rose M. Lee (University of the Philippines-Mindanao)
Miguel Antonio Lizada (National University of Singapore)
Edmark Tejarcio Tan (University of Santo Tomas)

Khail Campos Santia of Malaybalay, Bukidnon (Silliman University) will join them as a special fellow for poetry. The names of other special fellows from around the Asia-Pacific region will be announced later.

Four alternates have also been chosen in case any of the regular fellows declines the invitation: Christian Jil R. Benitez of San Mateo, Rizal (Ateneo de Manila University) for poetry, Edmond Julian Y. Dela Cerna of Davao City (San Pedro College) and Matthew Jacob F. Ramos of Cebu City (Ateneo de Manila University) for fiction, and Fritzie D. Rodriguez of Balaga City, Bataan (University of the Philippines-Diliman) for creative nonfiction.

Three applicants have also been invited to sit as special workshop mentees, including Ana Joaquina Adriano of Dumaguete City (Enderun College), Silvin Federic Real Maceren of Cebu City (Silliman University), and Chuckie Perez Manio of Bacolod City (Silliman University).

The panel of writers/critics for this year will also be announced later.

The workshop, which traditionally lasts for three weeks, is the oldest creative writing workshop of its kind in Asia. It was founded in 1962 by S.E.A. Write Awardee Edilberto K. Tiempo and National Artist Edith L. Tiempo, and was recently given the Tanging Parangal in the Gawad CCP Para sa Sining by the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

For more information about forthcoming events during the workshop, please email Workshop Coordinator Ian Rosales Casocot at or call the Department of English and Literature at (035) 422-6002 loc. 520. (Edilberto and Edith Tiempo Creative Writing Center)

No comments: