Thursday, April 17, 2008

47th dumaguete national writers workshop fellows

Just by simply sending in some manuscripts I consider obsolete in my little world of writing where I am a practicing fiction writer, I am scared and weak-kneed. What more, when I received a messaged last Monday (April 14, 2008) that I got into a national workshop, I was suddenly thrown into a whole new atmosphere. I was, really, in a shock thinking this was just a prank. But it wasn’t. And minutes ago, I've read a message in my email from the Workshop committee... My, I know some of the fellows (not only those from Silliman) and they are published and professionals in their own right. Shiver, shiver.

National Artist for Literature and National Writers Workshop Director Emeritus Edith L. Tiempo and Silliman University are pleased to announce that the following young artists have been accepted as fellows for the 47th Dumaguete National Writers Workshop scheduled on May 5-23, 2008.


Lawrence Anthony Rivera Bernabe (UP Visayas)
Noelle Leslie G. dela Cruz (Philosophy Assoc. Professor, De La Salle University)
Ma. Celeste T. Fusilero (Ateneo de Davao)
Rodrigo Dela Peña (London PR Consultancy Creative Assoc., Dumaguete)
Arelene Jaguit Yandug (English Asst. Professor, Xavier)
Bron Joseph C. Teves (Silliman)


Marguerite Alcarazen de Leon (Ateneo de Manila)
Dustin Edward Celestino (UP Dilliman)
Joshua L. Lim So (De La Salle)
Liza Baccay (Speech Pathologist; contributor Cebu Daily News)
Fred Jordan Mikhail T. Carnice (Silliman)


Ma. Elena L. Paulma (Xavier)
Anna Carmela P. Tolentino (De La Salle)
Lamberto M. Varias, Jr. (UP Dilliman)

Sponsored by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and coordinated by the Department of English and Literature, the Workshop will be held at Silliman University in Dumaguete City.

Among the panelists expected to assist Dr. Tiempo are Dumaguete-based writers Ernesto Superal Yee, Bobby Villasis, Myrna Peña Reyes, and Cesar Ruiz Aquino, as well as guest panelists Dr. Rowena Torrevillas from the University of Iowa, Butch Dalisay, Butch Macansantos, Dave Genotiva, Susan Lara, Danny Reyes, Anthony Tan, and Lito Zulueta.

Other sponsors include the following: Hon. Emilio C. Macias II, Governor, Province of Negros Oriental; Mr. Roy Cang, Bethel Guest House; Ms. Susan Cu, Café Antonio; Atty. Whelma Yap, Bacongham Resort; and Ms. Kitty Taniguchi, Maryah Gallery.


twiggy said...

Jordie, congratulations. ;p Cheers.

Gino said...

Jordz, grabeh, congratz!!! Wooohhooo...'yaw ko kalimti ha..hehe... XD

Anonymous said...

Jordz, grabeh, congratz!!! Wooohhooo...'yaw ko kalimti ha..hehe... XD

Aiken said...

congratulations!!!!!! ikaw ang bigatin! hehehehe

f. jordan said...

bigatin pala ha? hehehe... thankie thanks aiken, gino, and pong!

Easter Lois said...

chak! i'm so proud of you jordie!!!!

f i l l i b u s t e r o said...

ang galing naman. panagarap ko to.

f. jordan said...

Hehe... Salamat, easter.
And yeah, fillibustero, pangarap to ng lahat ng mga nagpapaka-writer na walang magawa sa buhay kundi magpaka-deep. LOL. Thankie thanks!